.

The week at Book Passage

Here are three not-to-miss author events this week at Book Passage in Corte Madera.

Among Bay Area bookstores, Book Passage in Corte Madera has one of the most active schedules going of author events, readings, classes and other literary happenings. In fact, it’s not uncommon for more than one or two author talks to take place at the store on just about any given day. Additionally, many of these events have a local connection. Looking at the week, here are three events Patch.com readers won’t want to miss.

Delia Ephron reads from The Lion Is In
-- Tuesday, April 17 at 7:00 pm

Delia Ephron talks about her very funny and novel The Lion Is In (Blue Rider Press), in which three women on the run take refuge in a roadside nightclub and come face-to-face with a lion! One is a runaway bride and kleptomaniac, one’s a recovering alcoholic, and one’s a minister’s wife. Oh, and the lion is a retired circus performer.

Delia Ephron is a bestselling author, screenwriter, and playwright. Her movies include, You’ve Got Mail (starring Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan), The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Hanging Up (based on her novel), and Michael. She has written novels for adults and teenagers, books of humor, and essays. Recently she collaborated with her sister Nora Ephron on a play, Love, Loss, and What I Wore, which has run for over two years Off Broadway, and has been performed in cities across the United States and the world.

Anne Perry reads from Dorchester Terrace
-- Friday, April 20 at 1:00 pm

Edgar Award-winning author Anne Perry discusses her novel Dorchester Terrace (Ballantine Books). Perry’s latest work invites us not only into the secret places of Britain’s power but also into the innermost sanctums of the fin de siècle Austro-Hungarian Empire.

Anne Perry is the bestselling author of two acclaimed series set in Victorian England:  the Charlotte and Thomas Pitt novels, including Treason at Lisson Grove and Buckingham Palace Gardens, and the William Monk novels, including Acceptable Loss and Execution Dock. She is also the author of a series of five World War I novels, as well as nine holiday novels, most recently A Christmas Homecoming, and a historical novel, The Sheen on the Silk, set in the Ottoman Empire. None of her books has ever been out of print, and they have received critical acclaim and popular success: over 26 million books are in print world-wide. The Times selected her as one of the "100 Masters of Crime." Perry lives in Scotland.

Jenny Lawson reads from Let’s Pretend This Never Happened
-- Friday, April 20 at 7:00 pm

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives — the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (Putnam), Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; and “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

Jenny Lawson is a columnist and one of the most popular bloggers on Twitter (hundreds of thousands of followers). Her blog, www.thebloggess.com, averages between 2-3 million page views per month. Her debut book will appeal to fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris.

MORE INFO: Unless otherwise noted, all events take place at Book Passage, 51 Tamal Vista Blvd., in Corte Madera. Call (415) 927-0960 or visit www.bookpassage.com for details.

Thomas Gladysz is a Bay Area arts journalist, author, and longtime bookseller. More at www.thomasgladysz.com

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »